The See Chronicles

From the Parent of a Missionary

Justin: I MUST OBEY

 

We took this picture on Monday prior to Justin's entering the MTC.

We took this picture on Monday prior to Justin’s entering the MTC.

These are the last recorded words of Nephi in 2 Nephi 33:15. I finished 2 Nephi this morning and I have found so much strength in the example of this amazing prophet. I think that ¨I must obey” pretty much sums up his entire life, and I hope that one day it can be my personal phrase as well. When the Lord commands…. DO IT! 

After playing soccer for the first time in months on Monday, I spent half of the week pretty sore from all of the running… I’m pretty out of shape. Walking around all day doesn`t cut it, I suppose. But despite the soreness and all of the trials, I love how I can wake up every morning with a smile on my face and look forward to another day in the work of the Lord. There is no easier way to be truly happy than serving others and doing things that don`t just matter on earth, but will matter in heaven as well. A couple things that have given me extra joy this week were hearing that my brother has officially set out on his mission to Chile — go Connor! It was weird to be kneeling down in prayer at night and realizing that you were probably flying over my head at some point. And now Katiemarie is heading out soon and is going to be my next door neighbor… wow. One of the greatest joys of missionary work is seeing the work of our fellow servants. 

A couple of ways that I was able to feel the Spirit work through us this week:

The Jehovah’s Witnesses are pretty infamous here in Guatemala with the Elders, and I assume in all the world. I really admire them because they are the only other church that has the guts to get out of their homes and knock some doors, but when they try to talk to us it almost never turns out well. This week we started to teach a Jehovah’s Witness named Victor. He seemed very interested in the Book of Mormon and we set an appointment, but when we got there, it turns out that he had invited one of his leaders, named Jose, to join us. From the moment we started the lesson they just wanted to prove us wrong and use the Bible to tear down the Book of Mormon. It always makes me sad when people want to accept that only the Bible is the word of God. God loves all of his children and isn`t going to talk to only one part of the world in one part of history — he is going to talk to everyone, always! The Book of Mormon testifies of the Bible and the Bible of the Book of Mormon, and after an hour of talking with Victor and Jose, we just left them with our testimonies of the Book of Mormon and the Restoration, and there was nothing they could say against that. 

We had an amazing zone conference this week as well. Every time I hear President Stay speak, I come to love him more and more and I know that he was called of God to be one of my leaders. In one part of the conference, the president asked each of us to stand and share one of the lies that Satan has whispered in our ears and how we were able to overcome it. The lie I shared is one that the enemy has been using against me my entire mission: “Nobody is listening to you! Despite all of the work you do, nobody gets baptized. Look at other missionaries — they don`t work as hard as you do and they have more success. You, Elder See, are not a successful missionary. You`ll never be a leader, and you won`t have baptisms.” I was able to destroy Satan`s lie with Alma, chapter 29:

O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people!

 2 Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth.

 3 But behold, I am a man, and do sin in my wish; for I ought to be content with the things which the Lord hath allotted unto me.

As missionaries, we have the desire to have everyone be baptized, and we want to just pick everyone up and set them in the baptismal font. But we sin in our desire to change the agency of others. We have to be happy with what the Lord gives us. True success as a missionary comes if we can feel the spirit working in our lives and in the lives of others.

After sharing that it was really cool because other missionaries came up to me and said that it had really helped them. I know that God will always triumph over Satan.

This Sunday was absolutely amazing because it was the first time that we contracted a bus to take the members to church. We spent all Sunday morning running all over the place to get people to the bus stop on time, and we managed to get 45 people into the bus with us, and we all went to church together, arriving only 3 minutes late. It was a record for attendance from Satelite, I think, and there`s only room to grow. All of the members are excited about the change and we will continue to have more success in bringing less active members and investigators to church. This Sunday Ergil Queme, one of the youth that we reactivated with his dad, was sustained to receive the priesthood, and Hancen, another youth we reactivated, blessed the sacrament for the first time. Another less active sister named Ara went to church for the first time in years and even brought her nonmember husband with her — we are now teaching them as a family and fighting so their children can go with them as well. Our investigators are progressing as well, and moving slowly but surely towards their heavenly father.

I know that this work is true and the God wants to talk with each one of us. He wants us to be happy! Know it, live it, love it.

Elder See the second!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2013 by in From the Missionary.
