The See Chronicles

From the Parent of a Missionary

The Trinity… and an earthquake.

First things first: Sorry that I didn´t have time to respond to your emails last week. Like I said in my email, I had a pretty crazy P-day and I was too busy going bowling to have time to write to you all. 

Psyche! They only gave us 30 minutes of internet time. But this week… it´s better. 

I have to start out with the pretty crazy experiences that I have had this week that are helping me to learn a lot more about who God really is in our lives and how we can become like him. On Tuesday morning, Elder Carvalho and I headed out to the central chapel to pick up the newest member of our companionship: Elder Hernandez. Yah folks, I´m in a trio again! Being in a trio is such a distinct experience from a companionship. I honestly don´t know how God does it — he can be in a trio for all eternity and still managed to be perfectly united with his two companions. In this week I have learned a lot more about what it means to be one. 

Elder Hernandez is from Honduras, San Pedro (yah, where Katie is going I think…) and is the only member in his entire family — A bit like Dad when he went on his mission. He has 22 months in his mission, which normally means that they´re “baggy.” He has some peculiar habits and has had problems with past companions and sicknesses, but not with us! Elder Carvalho and I decided early on to do the best we possibly could to help him and be the best companions that we can be. With the both of us still motivated to work hard, we are bringing Elder Hernandez right along with us. We are holding to a high standard of obedience and working out, bit by bit, ways that we can become more united. Since Elder Carvalho and I are used to speaking in English and Elder Hernandez doesn´t speak a word, we´ve switched back to Spanish mode. 

In our little trio, a bunch of miracles have already started to happen. Not only did we get hit by a 6.5 earthquake while sitting in a house on the edge of cliff, discover a giant mold infestation in our house, and go to a crazy zone meeting, but we have helped many to come a bit closer to Christ. The big highlight of this week was an activity that we organized for Hermana Miriam, who is on the verge of getting divorced, married, and then baptized. We organized a huge lunch sale where we asked all the members to buy lunches from her so they could have their Sunday lunch ready on Saturday night. A lot of the members liked the idea and my companions and I spent a long time delivering lunches to houses. We also organized a branch movie night and charged a small admission, selling snacks on the side, to raise even more pisto (dough) as they say here in Guatemala. We didn´t have quite as much success as we wanted, but we got a lot of money together to help her pay for her divorce. I pray that I can be here for this woman´s baptism. 

We also saw miracles with the Chamo family this week. I wrote a bit about a man named Sergio last week, and he has quickly converted into the most amazing investigator of my entire mission. When we went back for the second visit, he had already explained the entire first lesson to his wife and kids that weren´t there in the first lesson and read several chapters in the Book of Mormon together with them. They were full of questions, including why they had to be baptized again and what church was like. We happily responded and happily guided Sergio, his little brother Bryan, and his son Sergio Junior into church on Sunday. Sergio was asking so many questions in the classes that he basically got all of the attention and the members came to immediately love him. Everyone was inviting him to activities and family home evenings and things. He even asked a member what day he and his family could go to the member´s house and keep hearing the missionary lessons. Me and my companions were just secretly crying of joy inside. He even told us, “When you came for the first time, I felt like my entire body was hot and floating. I´ve never felt like that before. I want to do whatever I can to follow God.” I love that man. 

We are also seeing miracles with our favorite drunk guy, Ernesto. He told us that after we gave him a blessing, he started to really desire to stop drinking and has been fighting ever since. Despite his 76 years of age, he set the goal with us to go visit some of his friends and other members. He continues to have relapses several times a week, but we are fighting!

Another less active member, Mario, has managed to completely give up smoking and has come to church for several weeks in a row now. His son is going to receive the priesthood, and we are really happy to see them there with us every week. 

The list of miracles goes on and on. Unfortunately we are still waiting on some miracles for our friend Raul. This week his mom had a weird anti Mormon attack after hearing some things on the radio. She heard that we are a “sect” and she thought that it meant we worshipped the devil or something. Stupid people. But Raul continues with a desire to learn and progress. 

Sunday afternoon I had an amazing experience as well. Hermano Valiente did divisions with me and we were on the path to an appointment when we found a youth, Moises, in the path. The Spirit helped me to remember that he had a less active aunt that I hadn´t met yet. I asked him where she lived, and it was only a block away. Hermano Valiente and I readily went to knock her door. Turns out that this sister, Ruth, has a son that was recently sent to jail and was in great need of God´s help. She had a friend there who had come to visit her who had just have a huge fight with her husband and had stopped going to her church. After a powerful prayer, the spirit testified to them that they needed to return to God, and even though Ruth hasn´t gone to church in 22 years, she is supposedly going with us this upcoming Sunday. 

Final miracle: our petition to have Satelite turned into a branch has been heard! Next Sunday, one of the area seventy, Elder Galvez, is coming to visit the branch and evaluate the situation. We have to work really hard to get as many people as we possibly can to church this Sunday. I know that God is pouring out his blessings for the diligence and obedience that we have demonstrated him. I passed through the refiner’s fire and I have purified my heart a bit more. God´s work is undeniably moving forward, and his Spirit is changing the lives of many. We are just instruments in his hands to get it done. 

I thank my family for all of the support they give me, for the live and the Gospel that I have had since I was born, and for the priceless blessing of having a family for all eternity. I know that God is watching over you all, and I can´t wait to hear how Connor and Katie´s missions turn out! Endure, endure, endure. 

Love, 

Elder See

First things first: Sorry that I didn´t have time to respond to your emails last week. Like I said in my email, I had a pretty crazy P-day and I was too busy going bowling to have time to write to you all. 

Psyche! They only gave us 30 minutes of internet time. But this week… it´s better. 

I have to start out with the pretty crazy experiences that I have had this week that are helping me to learn a lot more about who God really is in our lives and how we can become like him. On Tuesday morning, Elder Carvalho and I headed out to the central chapel to pick up the newest member of our companionship: Elder Hernandez. Yah folks, I´m in a trio again! Being in a trio is such a distinct experience from a companionship. I honestly don´t know how God does it — he can be in a trio for all eternity and still managed to be perfectly united with his two companions. In this week I have learned a lot more about what it means to be one. 

Elder Hernandez is from Honduras, San Pedro (yah, where Katie is going I think…) and is the only member in his entire family — A bit like Dad when he went on his mission. He has 22 months in his mission, which normally means that they´re “baggy.” He has some peculiar habits and has had problems with past companions and sicknesses, but not with us! Elder Carvalho and I decided early on to do the best we possibly could to help him and be the best companions that we can be. With the both of us still motivated to work hard, we are bringing Elder Hernandez right along with us. We are holding to a high standard of obedience and working out, bit by bit, ways that we can become more united. Since Elder Carvalho and I are used to speaking in English and Elder Hernandez doesn´t speak a word, we´ve switched back to Spanish mode. 

In our little trio, a bunch of miracles have already started to happen. Not only did we get hit by a 6.5 earthquake while sitting in a house on the edge of cliff, discover a giant mold infestation in our house, and go to a crazy zone meeting, but we have helped many to come a bit closer to Christ. The big highlight of this week was an activity that we organized for Hermana Miriam, who is on the verge of getting divorced, married, and then baptized. We organized a huge lunch sale where we asked all the members to buy lunches from her so they could have their Sunday lunch ready on Saturday night. A lot of the members liked the idea and my companions and I spent a long time delivering lunches to houses. We also organized a branch movie night and charged a small admission, selling snacks on the side, to raise even more pisto (dough) as they say here in Guatemala. We didn´t have quite as much success as we wanted, but we got a lot of money together to help her pay for her divorce. I pray that I can be here for this woman´s baptism. 

We also saw miracles with the Chamo family this week. I wrote a bit about a man named Sergio last week, and he has quickly converted into the most amazing investigator of my entire mission. When we went back for the second visit, he had already explained the entire first lesson to his wife and kids that weren´t there in the first lesson and read several chapters in the Book of Mormon together with them. They were full of questions, including why they had to be baptized again and what church was like. We happily responded and happily guided Sergio, his little brother Bryan, and his son Sergio Junior into church on Sunday. Sergio was asking so many questions in the classes that he basically got all of the attention and the members came to immediately love him. Everyone was inviting him to activities and family home evenings and things. He even asked a member what day he and his family could go to the member´s house and keep hearing the missionary lessons. Me and my companions were just secretly crying of joy inside. He even told us, “When you came for the first time, I felt like my entire body was hot and floating. I´ve never felt like that before. I want to do whatever I can to follow God.” I love that man. 

We are also seeing miracles with our favorite drunk guy, Ernesto. He told us that after we gave him a blessing, he started to really desire to stop drinking and has been fighting ever since. Despite his 76 years of age, he set the goal with us to go visit some of his friends and other members. He continues to have relapses several times a week, but we are fighting!

Another less active member, Mario, has managed to completely give up smoking and has come to church for several weeks in a row now. His son is going to receive the priesthood, and we are really happy to see them there with us every week. 

The list of miracles goes on and on. Unfortunately we are still waiting on some miracles for our friend Raul. This week his mom had a weird anti Mormon attack after hearing some things on the radio. She heard that we are a “sect” and she thought that it meant we worshipped the devil or something. Stupid people. But Raul continues with a desire to learn and progress. 

Sunday afternoon I had an amazing experience as well. Hermano Valiente did divisions with me and we were on the path to an appointment when we found a youth, Moises, in the path. The Spirit helped me to remember that he had a less active aunt that I hadn´t met yet. I asked him where she lived, and it was only a block away. Hermano Valiente and I readily went to knock her door. Turns out that this sister, Ruth, has a son that was recently sent to jail and was in great need of God´s help. She had a friend there who had come to visit her who had just have a huge fight with her husband and had stopped going to her church. After a powerful prayer, the spirit testified to them that they needed to return to God, and even though Ruth hasn´t gone to church in 22 years, she is supposedly going with us this upcoming Sunday. 

Final miracle: our petition to have Satelite turned into a branch has been heard! Next Sunday, one of the area seventy, Elder Galvez, is coming to visit the branch and evaluate the situation. We have to work really hard to get as many people as we possibly can to church this Sunday. I know that God is pouring out his blessings for the diligence and obedience that we have demonstrated him. I passed through the refiner’s fire and I have purified my heart a bit more. God´s work is undeniably moving forward, and his Spirit is changing the lives of many. We are just instruments in his hands to get it done. 

I thank my family for all of the support they give me, for the live and the Gospel that I have had since I was born, and for the priceless blessing of having a family for all eternity. I know that God is watching over you all, and I can´t wait to hear how Connor and Katie´s missions turn out! Endure, endure, endure. 

Love, 

Elder See

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2013 by in From the Missionary.
