The See Chronicles

From the Parent of a Missionary

Hallelujah

A view from his apartment window in Satelite.

A view from his apartment window in Satelite.

I have had a really unique experience through opening up a new area. In just 4 short weeks, I have seen so much progress and potential that I just want to scream HALLELUJAH whenever I see my fellow brothers and sisters in God coming unto Christ and receiving blessings from him. 

I have come to learn how important a reactivation can mean to someone. Sometimes as missionaries we have the tendency to just want those pictures of investigators in white clothes at their baptismal service, but I understand that as we bring people once again to the fold of God, they can feel the joy of coming back to church, and I feel the joy when I see the look on their face as one of their brothers embraces them and welcomes them home. I have never felt a greater joy. 

This week we managed to help the Chicol family return to church. They are practically members but have never been able to baptized because Sister Chicol has to get divorced with her ex-husband. She started to go to another church because she was depressed, but this week the spirit really touched her and helped the entire family to realize that the church is true! 

Another family, the Castillo Perez family, has not been able to go to church due to extreme poverty. When I walked in their house for the first time, I was extremely humbled by the tin walls, the ancient mattresses, and the tiny firewood stove. But as me and my companion humbled ourselves in a powerful kneeling prayer, we called blessings upon that family. In two short weeks they have gotten so excited by church that Hermano Rafael changed his work schedule and they started to read their scriptures daily. Sister Claudia also left another church to go with her children to the true church of God! They didn´t even tell us that they were going to church this week, so it was a great surprise for me when I walked in and saw their smiling faces. 

We had a bit of a disappointment with one of my favorite sisters, Sister Miriam. She was unable to get baptized this week due to a confusion with her marriage papers. Her husband, Neto, threw quite a fit about it, but we will be trying to help them get married on the 20th! Hemana Miriam just said, “If I´ve been waiting for 10 years, I can wait for 2 more weeks.” I love that woman. Even though her car broke down, they hired a taxi to take them to church. Despite her extreme pain when she walks due to a stroke, she continues to move forward. Sometimes I wonder if I have that kind of faith. 

Our other investigators are doing amazing as well. Raul and Brandon continue to anxiously await every single one of our appointments. They read all of the pamphlets we give them and read the Book of Mormon a bunch. They are making huge changes in their lives as they try to get onto the path that leads to eternal life. Bummer that Brandon has to study on Sundays… WHO INVENTED SUNDAY SCHOOL?! Not the Sunday School in church, the Sunday School in university. We are SO blessed in the US to pretty much have nothing going on on Sundays. But Raul went to church for the 2nd time and continues to love it. 

We found a golden investigator named Albert this week. In the first appointment he told us that he had been praying to know which church was true and felt lost. The story of Joseph Smith really touched him and helped him to know that Christ has restored his church again, and he committed to going to church and getting baptized in the first visit! We are working hard to keep constant contact with him and help him on his path. 

I had one of the best Sundays EVAH this week. We had an awesome branch council where all of the members expressed their gratitude about how hard we are working. Now that there are 4 elders in the branch we are really seeing progress, and the members want to work with us after having lazy missionaries for over a year. We had an amazing fast and testimony meeting as well. I followed a suggestion from a conference talk and went to church with a list of all the things I want to do better and sincerely partook of the sacrament, and boy did I feel the spirit of forgiveness. The sacrament is changing my life now that I´m taking it more seriously. I invite every to do the same! And I bore my testimony after, and I was surprised at the things the Spirit was saying through me. It´s funny, because the words that I say haven´t changed too much since before my mission, just the conviction that I say them with. My “old” testimony pales in comparison! After, we did our first ever “Noche de Sion” (or Zion´s NIght) with the members here. We crammed 26 members into a tiny living and talked about how we can start Zion here in Satelite. The members got super excited and pumped to work hard and get our own chapel here, and we will now be doing that activity every Sunday. Everyone felt the spirit of missionary work 🙂 .God does miracles every day, and a lot of times he does it through us! Let God work through you and you will have joy. Pray for an opportunity to serve every day. Love your neighbors!

Love you all. 

Elder See

I have had a really unique experience through opening up a new area. In just 4 short weeks, I have seen so much progress and potential that I just want to scream HALLELUJAH whenever I see my fellow brothers and sisters in God coming unto Christ and receiving blessings from him. 

I have come to learn how important a reactivation can mean to someone. Sometimes as missionaries we have the tendency to just want those pictures of investigators in white clothes at their baptismal service, but I understand that as we bring people once again to the fold of God, they can feel the joy of coming back to church, and I feel the joy when I see the look on their face as one of their brothers embraces them and welcomes them home. I have never felt a greater joy. 

This week we managed to help the Chicol family return to church. They are practically members but have never been able to baptized because Sister Chicol has to get divorced with her ex husband. She started to go to another church because she was depressed, but this week the spirit really touched her and helped the entire family to realize that the church is true! 

Another family, the Castillo Perez family, has not been able to go to church due to extreme poverty. When I walked in their house for the first time, I was extremely humbled by the tin walls, the ancient matresses, and the tiny firewood stove. But as me and my companion humbled ourselves in a powerful kneeling prayer, we called blessings upon that family. In two short weeks they have gotten so excited by church that Hermano Rafael changed his work schedule and they started to read their scriptures daily. Sister Claudia also left another church to go with her children to the true church of God! They didn´t even tell us that they were going to church this week, so it was a great surprise for me when I walked in and saw their smiling faces. 

We had a bit of a disappointment with one of my favorite sisters, Sister Miriam. She was unable to get baptized this week due to a confusion with her marriage papers. Her husband, Neto, threw quite a fit about it, but we will be trying to help them get married on the 20th! Hemana Miriam just said, “If I´ve been waiting for 10 years, I can wait for 2 more weeks.” I love that woman. Even though her car broke down, they hired a taxi to take them to church. Despite her extreme pain when she walks due to a stroke, she continues to move forward. Sometimes I wonder if I have that kind of faith. 

Our other investigators are doing amazing as well. Raul and Brandon continue to anxiously await every single one of our appointments. They read all of the pamphlets we give them and read the Book of Mormon a bunch. They are making huge changes in their lives as they try to get onto the path that leads to eternal life. Bummer that Brandon has to study on sundays… WHO INVENTED SUNDAY SCHOOL?! Not the sunday school in church, the sunday school in university. We are SO blessed in the US to pretty much have nothing going on on Sundays. But Raul went to church for the 2nd time and continues to love it. 

We found a golden investigator named Albert this week. In the first appointment he told us that he had been praying to know which church was true and felt lost. THe story of Joseph Smith really touched him and helped him to know that Christ has restored his church again, and he committed to going to church and getting baptized in the first visit! We are working hard to keep constant contact with him and help him on his path. 

I had one of the best sundays EVAH this week. We had an awesome branch council where all of the members expressed their gratitude about how hard we are working. Now that there are 4 elders in the branch we are really seeing progress, and the members want to work with us after having lazy missionaries for over a year. We had an amazing fast and testimony meeting as well. I followed a suggestion from a conference talk and went to church with a list of all the things I want to do better and sincerely partook of the sacrament, and boy did I feel the spirit of forgiveness. The sacrament is changing my life now that I´m taking it more seriously. I invite every to do the same! And I bore my testimony after, and I was surprised at the things the Spirit was saying through me. It´s funny, because the words that I say haven´t changed too much since before my mission, just the conviction that I say them with. My “old” testimony pales in comparison! After, we did our first ever “Noche de Sion” (or Zion´s NIght) with the members here. We crammed 26 members into a tiny living and talked about how we can start Zion here in Satelite. The members got super excited and pumped to work hard and get our own chapel here, and we will now be doing that activity every Sunday. Every one felt the spirit of missionary work 🙂 .God does miracles every day, and a lot of times he does it through us! Let God work through you and you will have joy. Pray for an opportunity to serve every day. Love your neighbors!

Love you all. 

Elder See

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2013 by in From the Missionary.
